Where Are The Prayer Warriors?

Ephesians 1:15-16

Wherefore I also, after I heard of your faith in the LORD Jesus, and love unto all the saints,  Cease not to give thanks for you, making mention of you in my prayers…

Philippians 1:3-4

I thank my God upon every remembrance of you,  Always in every prayer of mine for you all making request with joy…

Philippians 4:6

Be careful for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God.

Colossians 1:9

For this cause we also, since the day we heard it, do not cease to pray for you…

Colossians 4:2

Continue in prayer, and watch in the same with thanksgiving…

1 Thessalonians 3:10

Night and day praying exceedingly…

1 Thessalonians 5:17

Pray without ceasing.

2 Thessalonians 1:11

Wherefore also we pray always for you…

1 Timothy 2:8

I will therefore that men pray every where, lifting up holy hands, without wrath and doubting.

2 Timothy 1:3

…without ceasing I have remembrance of thee in my prayers night and day…

Philemon 1:4

I thank my God, making mention of thee always in my prayers..

As I was meditating on God’s Word, my mind began to wander back to my early years.  I remember some of the miraculous things that I have seen in my lifetime.  I know that the only way these things could have possibly happened is by the hand of God.  I remember, however, that as I was growing up, I watched my grandmother spend a lot of time in prayer.  I believe the only reason she survived much of what she endured was because my grandmother was a prayer warrior.

God saw my grandmother through the death of her husband when he was only 43 years old.  She lived 54 years after his death.  She was a single mother to six children.  God did the miraculous in her life, and He provided for her beyond measure after her husband’s death.  My grandmother was a prayer warrior.

One of my grandmother’s children was afflicted with a disease that we don’t hear much about anymore:  rocky mountain spotted fever.  He was in the hospital with a temperature of 107 degrees.  His temperature was so high, she said, that it burned off some of his fingerprints and the creases in the skin on his elbows.  His throat and esophagus were affected, so much so that even today, he has to clear his throat by stretching it several times a day.  There was no technology such as we have today to treat him; my grandmother had to trust the LORD for her child’s healing.  She prayed for him because my grandmother was a prayer warrior.

The same son who survived the fever was burned by a hot radiator from his car many years later.  The radiator exploded and the hot water spilled all over his shirt, melting the shirt onto his skin.  We saw him running across the yard pulling the shirt over his head, which was a dangerous thing to do.  He was in the hospital for a while, and he had to have skin grafts to cover the places where the skin was torn off from his ripping off the shirt.  He survived…because my grandmother was praying for him.  My grandmother was a prayer warrior.

My grandmother’s youngest son was killed in the war.  She often told the story of how they sent his body back to the United States in a sealed coffin.  She told them she wanted to see his body, but her other children discouraged that, explaining to her that she did not want to see him that way.  His body had been torn apart by explosives.  All she knew was that her child was in that box, and she wanted to see his face one more time.  She said she let it go, but she was not happy about it.  I think for many years she was angry with the military for her son’s death.  It broke her heart that he was gone because he shared with her that when he came back home, he wanted to go into ministry.  I think she was proud of that.  She survived her son’s death, however, because my grandmother was a prayer warrior.

I remember the night my grandmother got the news that two of my first cousins were murdered alongside a highway near their home.  They were teenagers at the time, and the murder was brutal.  No one has ever been arrested or convicted in their murder.   My family doesn’t believe that the investigation continued long after their deaths.  My grandmother’s heart was broken.  She dealt with two of her grandsons being murdered at the same time, in what my family believes was a lynching.  She carried that heartbreak to her grave:  but she lived a productive life for many years after that, because my grandmother was a prayer warrior.

My grandmother was the granddaughter of a slave, and the daughter of a sharecropper.  She was the third of twelve children.  I remember many times how she shared with me the story of how she had to quit school in the third grade to care for the younger children so that her parents and her two older siblings could work the farm.  That was the only way that her parents could provide for their children.  My grandmother could not read; she had only a third grade education.  She did learn how to sign her name, but she could not write.  She used to make me write letters for her to her long distance relatives.  I hated it!  Now, I understand and I am ashamed of how much I hated writing those letters.  Regardless of how much I hated writing those letters, my grandmother did not let up.  She dictated what she wanted written and I wrote it.  I am glad today that she made me write those letters.  It is a blessing to me to think back about how I was a blessing to her.  She taught me to pray.  She taught me who Jesus is.  She encouraged a love for God’s Word in me because she could quote the scriptures even though she could not read a word.  I had a drug problem:  she “drug” me to church every Sunday!  We went to Sunday School, preaching service, Wednesday night prayer meetings, BTU (Baptist Training Union), CTU (Church Training Union), Saturday choir rehearsal, and Sunday evening service.  She taught me to love the LORD, the Word, and the church.  She could influence me that way because she was a prayer warrior.

Where are the prayer warriors today?  No one wants to pray.  No one wants to labor on their knees before the LORD and repent of their sin.  No one wants to bring their problems and needs and hurts and disappointments and cares and burdens to the LORD on a consistent basis without giving up.  No one prays anymore.  Where are the prayer warriors?

We don’t pray like we used to…and that’s why I listed the scriptures above to remind us that we need to pray more.  I need to pray more.  My children need to pray more.  God said in His Word in 2 Chronicles 7:14, “If MY people, which are called by MY Name, shall humble themselves and pray…”  That’s part of the problem, I think.  We really don’t want to humble ourselves.  If we want God to do something in this wicked world we live in, we better get back on our knees.  2 Chronicles 7:14 goes on to say, “…then will I hear from heaven, forgive their sins, and heal their land.”  Nothing happens without prayer.

Calling all prayer warriors!!!

Leave a Reply

