Here I Go Again…

Genesis 2:24

Therefore shall a man leave his father and his mother, and shall cleave unto his wife: and they shall be one flesh.

Matthew 19:5-6

And said, For this cause shall a man leave father and mother, and shall cleave to his wife: and they twain shall be one flesh?  Wherefore they are no more twain, but one flesh. What therefore God hath joined together, let not man put asunder.

Mark 10:8

And they twain shall be one flesh: so then they are no more twain, but one flesh.

If you have read any of my writing on this blog, you know that I am passionate about a few things:  protection for the unborn, foster care and adoption for orphans, America’s allegiance to Israel, and God’s plan for marriage.  These are the things that matter most to me in life, as I believe these are the things that are most important to God.

I come to this blog sometimes when my heart is burdened, as is the case today.  I got news of another marriage that has been broken by sin.  It pains me so deeply when I hear of two people who made a covenant with God and each other, and take that covenant so lightly.

Over the past couple of years, I have meditated on God’s Word as it pertains to marriage in a way that I had not done before.  Genesis 2:24 is quite clear when it says that “Therefore shall a man leave his father and his mother, and shall cleave unto his wife: and they shall be one flesh.” When a man “leaves” his father and mother, he is still a part of his family of origin, but he is embarking on a new phase of life, and he is building a family of his own.  No longer is he under the headship of the parents who bore and raised him.  He is now becoming a man who is the head of his own home.  His family of origin now becomes his extended family, and the family that he is building is his immediate family.  They are his first priority and they get the bulk of his attention.  He is to “..cleave unto his wife…”  Marriage is a sacred bond like no other bond under heaven.  There is a closeness that is developed in marriage that affects the husband and the wife as no other relationship ever can or ever will.  The man who is married is to cling to that relationship with all of his might.  The only relationship on the earth more important to him than the one with his wife is the relationship that he has with his Savior.  “…And they shall be one flesh…” seals the deal.  When two people are married, they consummate the relationship and nothing nor anyone is to come between those two persons, because as far as God is concerned, they are one person.  When God sees one, He sees the other.

Matthew 19:6 goes on to say “What therefore God hath joined together, let not man put asunder.”  No one, including the persons who made the covenant, are to come between the vows that were made to each other and to God.  I think sometimes we as Christians forget what a covenant is.  I have covered that several times in this blog, but I will briefly say that God made a covenant to Abraham; a covenant which has never been and will never be broken.  In Genesis 12, God makes a seven-part promise to Abraham, which is still in effect, even at this very moment:  “And I will make of thee a great nation, and I will bless thee, and make thy name great; and thou shalt be a blessing:  And I will bless them that bless thee, and curse him that curseth thee: and in thee shall all families of the earth be blessed.”  God made the covenant with Abraham probably more than 3000 years ago, and that covenant is still in effect.  I wonder was He modeling for us what He expects when we make a covenant?

To my original point, my heart is broken for the marriages that I know about that have gone through separation and/or divorce.  Sometimes I read about celebrities who separate and divorce and that hurts my heart also.  I know marriage is spiritual, and anyone who does not know the LORD Jesus Christ does not understand that, but it still pains me to think of the children that could be involved, or just the scars that will be left in the hearts of the persons who married and walked away from the marriage.  The wounds of divorce are deep and they NEVER go away.  I know from personal experience because each day when I look into the eyes of my own children, I hurt for them.

If you are married, and you think your marriage may be in trouble, seek the LORD and Godly counsel to help you work through whatever the problem may be.  God is able.  He is willing to help you if you will put your trust in Him.  God loves His children.  He wants to see the marriages within the body of Christ thrive and represent His love for His bride, the church.  If only we would seek Him…

Leave a Reply

