Say What You Mean and Stand By What You Say!

“…let your yea be yea; and your nay, nay; lest ye fall into condemnation.”
James 5:12

Recently while flipping channels, I came across one of the latest discussions going on amongst those on daytime tv. Apparently, a rather famous host of a daytime talk show made a comment about a reporter who works for another network. The comment was on the “skimpiness” of the reporter’s outfits while appearing on national television. Apparently the reporter had dealt with a stalker prior to this, and the daytime host suggested that such provocative clothing may sometimes provoke unwanted advances from the opposite gender.
Prior to that, another reporter from a major network commented on someone’s style of dress while reporting a certain story. The executives from the network were not happy about those comments and took action. The reporter apologized to the target of the comments, and life went on.

These are only two of the instances where a person made a judgment, and bowed to the pressure of those around them to back off of their positions. The first story where the host suggested that provocative clothing may draw unwanted attention caught my attention because I agreed with the host whole heartedly. The news is full of rape and sexual assault. I know that rape and any kind of forced sexual activity is wrong, it is illegal, and it is horrifying to think that any woman may have to endure it. I, however, want the ladies who may be reading this to think for just a second: how much of the unwanted attention that you may endure is your own doing? I mean, is your attire such that men, who are visual creatures, by the way, would be drawn to your body? If so, are you exposing so much that a man who has no self-control would be tempted by you? I am not excusing any man who has violated a woman. That is not the point. The point is that as women we have to take some of the responsibility on ourselves. We have to look in the mirror and ask ourselves what our motives are when we get dressed to go out in public. If our motives are to attract the attention of the opposite gender, then we should not be offended when we accomplish our goal.

But that is also not my point. I want to get back to the two people who called out the two other people about the way that they were dressed. If I had made such a statement, especially on national television, I think I would have stood by my comments. If I tell you that your outfit is too skimpy, and that the guy who has been following you around when you are out at night is drawn to your skimpy attire, I will stand by that. I believe that is correct thinking. I believe that women who leave little to the imagination bear some of the responsibility for the attention that they draw, and I will not move from that position.

It amazes me how little women are wearing to church these days. Oh my goodness! Cleavage, thighs, arms, and backs are exposed for all the world to see in church these days. I remember when I was a little girl, my grandmother used to take me to church every Sunday and she made sure that I was dressed appropriately. Not only was I completely covered, but I even had to wear hose! We didn’t wear shoes with open toes, we did not wear pants, and we certainly would never be caught dead in church in halter tops, tank tops and shorts. My grandmother was of the position that first of all, God’s house is to be revered. No way would one who really wanted to honor the Lord with their whole being walk into His house for worship dressed like they just came from the park or a baseball game! Second, my grandmother would have said that you don’t distract the men in the church from doing their service to the Lord by going in there with your cleavage out and splits in your skirt so high until your panty lines can be seen! It is utterly ridiculous how women dress going to church these days. But I digress, once again…

I will not move from my opinion. My yea is yea on this. I have three beautiful daughters and though I am not quite as rigid as my grandmother was, there are some things that I will not compromise. My girls wear dresses that are long enough to cover them. There will never be any cleavage shown when they are going to church with me. I normally do not let them wear open toes, but sometimes it is just too hot where we live to stick to that one…but the point that I am making is that I will not waver.

2 Corinthians 5:17 says “Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new.” The old things that we used to do, including the old way that we used to dress, will pass away when we ask the Lord to come into our lives and be the Lord and Master. He can change our hearts, our minds, our attitudes, our opinions and the way we dress if we surrender those things to Him. God is faithful to us, even when we are not faithful to Him.

Romans 10:9-10 says “That if thou shalt confess with thy mouth the Lord Jesus, and shalt believe in thine heart that God hath raised Him from the dead, thou shalt be saved.
For with the heart man believeth unto righteousness; and with the mouth confession is made unto salvation.”

Leave a Reply

