A Tribute to My Children

Psalm 127:3-5

“Lo, children are an heritage of the Lord: and the fruit of the womb is His reward.  As arrows are in the hand of a mighty man; so are children of the youth.  Happy is the man that hath his quiver full of them: they shall not be ashamed…”

There are not many things about my life of which I am very proud.  I lived a life of sin before I came to know the Lord in my late teens.  I struggled in the early years of my walk with the Lord.  I have even struggled now that I have known the Lord for many years.

There is, however, an area of my life of which I am very thankful.  I am so thankful to the Lord for my four children.  My children vary in ages:  my oldest daughter is 23.  After 13 years of waiting and hoping, God blessed me again with my second daughter, who is 10.  Five years after her birth, the Lord blessed my husband and me to be able to adopt two beautiful children:  a five-year-old daughter and a two-year-old son, who are now nine and six years old, respectively.

God has used these four people, and my love for them, to change my heart and my mind in many areas.  I have a lot less concern about what people think of me, but I am very concerned with how my children perceive me.  I hope to be like the woman of Proverbs 31, where “she is not afraid of the snow of her household: for all her household are clothed with scarlet…” from verse 21, or like verse 26, “…she openeth her mouth with wisdom; and in her tongue the law of kindness…”  I especially hope that “her children arise up, and call her blessed…”

I give God glory every day for my four children.  There are days when they make me pull my hair out, and there are nights when I cry out to the Lord on their behalf.  One thing is for sure:  I wouldn’t trade a moment, good or bad, of being their mother.

Thank You Lord, for my children…

One Reply to “”

Leave a comment