How To Love Your Enemy

Matthew 5:43-44

Ye have heard that it hath been said, Thou shalt love thy neighbour, and hate thine enemy.  But I say unto you, Love your enemies, bless them that curse you, do good to them that hate you, and pray for them which despitefully use you, and persecute you…

Luke 6:27-29, 35

But I say unto you which hear, Love your enemies, do good to them which hate you, Bless them that curse you, and pray for them which despitefully use you. And unto him that smiteth thee on the one cheek offer also the other; and him that taketh away thy cloak forbid not to take thy coat also….But love ye your enemies, and do good, and lend, hoping for nothing again; and your reward shall be great, and ye shall be the children of the Highest: for He is kind unto the unthankful and to the evil.

Last week I heard a sermon that was so convicting.  It was based on some of these verses, and it talks about loving your enemy.  That has been a hard thing for me over the last three years.  My enemy has really tried to take me down.  The funny thing about my enemy is that he is one who promised to love and care for me until death.  Somehow, something has come over him and taken over his life, his mind, his heart, and his thoughts.  It is as if he is possessed by a devil.

Not only has my enemy attacked me, but he is also persecuting my children.  Nothing breaks a mother’s heart more than seeing their children mistreated by someone, especially if there is nothing that she can do about it.  My hands have been tied, and right now I feel like there is no hope for my children and me.  However, no matter what the situation, I want to please the LORD.  I want my light to shine before men.  I want God to be glorified.  I want to be in the center of God’s will.  Therefore, no matter what I am enduring, I need to remember how my God suffered on the cross at Calvary…in much worse fashion than I have suffered, so that my sin debt to God could be paid.  Now, that He has done that, I owe Him my obedience, and that includes loving my enemy.  I have to show my enemy love.  If that means smiling at him, when he certainly does not deserve my smile, I must do it.  If that means saying hello when I want to turn my head and pretend he is not there, I must do it.  If that means meeting a need of his though he does not deserve my doing anything for him, I must do it.  If that means keeping my mouth shut when he deserves my verbal wrath, I must be quiet.  I must love my enemy in spite of himself.

This will not be an easy task.  My flesh is cringing as I type these words.  This is, however, a do-able task.  It is possible to show my enemy love because the Spirit of God lives in me. He gives me the power to do everything He has told me to do.  The way to love my enemy is to give the Spirit of God free reign in my life, and let Him work through me.  There is nothing too hard for God.  There is no situation that He cannot work out.  There is no enemy that He cannot defeat.  There is no way that He cannot carve out.  There is absolutely, positively NOTHING that God cannot do.  All He asks is that we trust Him.

In my case, I have to trust Him to help me to LOVE MY ENEMY….

 

Leave a Reply

