Lord, I Need A Miracle…

John 12:37

But though he had done so many miracles before them, yet they believed not on him:

 

Jesus had performed many miracles.  Up to this point in scripture, He had changed the water into wine, which was the customary drink at wedding celebrations.  Shortly thereafter, a “certain nobleman” from Capernaum, approached Jesus and told Him that his son was sick.  Jesus spoke a word, and the man’s son was healed.  Jesus then healed the demoniac at Capernaum, who had made his way into the temple, and the demons spoke directly to Jesus saying, “Let us alone; what have we to do with Thee, Thou Jesus of Nazareth? art Thou come to destroy us? I know Thee Who Thou art, the Holy One of God.”  Jesus spoke a word and commanded the demons to come out of the man.  He left the temple and went to Peter’s house, where Peter’s mother-in-law lay sick with a fever.  Jesus rebuked the fever and it left.  She was healed instantly.  Jesus then healed the sick during the evening.  People who had loved ones with various kinds of illnesses brought them to Jesus, and He laid hands on each one of them, healing them instantly.  Jesus goes out onto a boat with His disciples and fills their nets with fish.  Jesus healed a leper, who by the way, was not even supposed to mingle with others during his uncleanness, according to the law.  Jesus touched the man, and the leprosy left him immediately.  Jesus healed the centurion’s servant, and He healed he man whose friends brought him to the house meeting where Jesus was speaking, and lowered the man into the house through the roof.

These are only ten of the miracles that Jesus performed.  He performed these miracles for Jews and Gentiles.  He performed these miracles for males, like the nobleman from Capernaum whose son was sick, and the demoniac in the temple.  He performed these miracles for females, like Peter’s mother-in-law and the woman with the issue of blood, whose miracle I did not even include in this list.  He healed leprosy, a fever, paralysis, and demon possession.  Jesus’ ability should not be in question.  The proof is all over the pages of scripture.

Fast forward to 2016, when we need miracles like the ones that Jesus performed in Capernaum, Cana and surrounding areas.  Our world is in turmoil, not only because there are people who are suffering from illnesses, but there are people whose hearts are hardened and they need the miracle of Jesus’ intervention to remove their stony hearts.  Jeremiah 17:9 says “The heart is deceitful above all things, and desperately wicked: who can know it?”  The greatest miracle needed right now is the miracle of changed hearts.

I recently heard the testimony of a woman who spent a huge chunk of her life working in abortion clinics in the south.  She made lots of money and sold the murderous agenda of “a woman’s right to choose” to untold numbers of young women in this country.  One day,  an elderly preacher came and prayed with her; that encounter was the beginning of the most radical change in her life, and not long after that, the LORD miraculously delivered her from the abortion clinics and has placed her in a pro-life ministry that is radically changing people’s lives all over this country.  God worked that miracle.

I also heard the testimony of a gentleman who was supposed to catch a flight out of Logan airport in Boston on September 11, 2001.  For some reason, he just could not get up that morning, and he missed his flight.  By the time he was ready to go, it was too late.  Shortly after he missed his flight, the plane that he missed crashed into the World Trade Center in New York.  God worked that miracle.

I have a friend whose daughter has battled breast cancer for four years.  Her latest PET scan showed no signs of cancer.  The doctors were reluctant to even share the news with the her and her family because they cannot explain why she has no cancer cells in her body.  I know exactly why there is no cancer in her body….because God worked that miracle.

My mother and I have a decent relationship for the first time in all of my life.  We have been at odds since I was very young, for various reasons.  The LORD used a trial in our lives to bring us closer together.  There were times when we would go months and not speak to each other.  Now, we talk to each other an average of three times a week.  When I need her, she is there for me.  When she needs me, I am there for her.  The only explanation for such a radical change in our relationship is that God worked that miracle.

Do I believe that God is still working the “center stage” miracles the way He did in the Bible?  No, I do not.  I know that Jesus is not still here on the earth in human form, going around touching people and making them well.  I do believe, however, that God still does miraculous things.  I do believe that He heals the sick, He provides for the needy, He changes hearts and brings people to repentance.  He restores and repairs relationships.  He is still in the miracle working business.

I need a miracle.  I need for God to do the miraculous in my life.  Therefore, I am standing in the scriptures, and I am reminding myself of them everyday.  I am holding God to His Word.  He said in His Word That if thou shalt confess with thy mouth the Lord Jesus, and shalt believe in thine heart that God hath raised Him from the dead, thou shalt be saved.  For with the heart man believeth unto righteousness; and with the mouth confession is made unto salvation.”  (Romans 10:9-10)…Matthew 7:7 says “Ask, and it shall be given you; seek, and ye shall find; knock, and it shall be opened unto you…”  Matthew 21:22 says “And all things, whatsoever ye shall ask in prayer, believing, ye shall receive…”  John 15:7 says “If ye abide in me, and my words abide in you, ye shall ask what ye will, and it shall be done unto you.”  Matthew 21:21-22 says, Jesus answered and said unto them, Verily I say unto you, If ye have faith, and doubt not, ye shall not only do this which is done to the fig tree, but also if ye shall say unto this mountain, Be thou removed, and be thou cast into the sea; it shall be done.  And all things, whatsoever ye shall ask in prayer, believing, ye shall receive…”  Luke 11:9-10 says And I say unto you, Ask, and it shall be given you; seek, and ye shall find; knock, and it shall be opened unto you.  For every one that asketh receiveth; and he that seeketh findeth; and to him that knocketh it shall be opened…”  1 John 3:21-22 says Beloved, if our heart condemn us not, then have we confidence toward God.  And whatsoever we ask, we receive of Him, because we keep His commandments, and do those things that are pleasing in His sight.”  1 John 5:14-15 says, And this is the confidence that we have in Him, that, if we ask any thing according to His will, He heareth us:  And if we know that He hear us, whatsoever we ask, we know that we have the petitions that we desired of Him.”  James 4:2-3 says,Ye lust, and have not: ye kill, and desire to have, and cannot obtain: ye fight and war, yet ye have not, because ye ask not.  Ye ask, and receive not, because ye ask amiss, that ye may consume it upon your lusts.”  John 14:12-14 says, Verily, verily, I say unto you, He that believeth on Me, the works that I do shall he do also; and greater works than these shall he do; because I go unto My Father.  And whatsoever ye shall ask in My Name, that will I do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son.  If ye shall ask any thing in My Name, I will do it.”

These passages state that if I ask anything that is in the Father’s will, to glorify Him and not myself, that He will do those things for me.  I am praying for a specific thing, that I know is His will for all of our lives, and I am holding Him to His Word.  If you are reading this, I challenge you to do the same.  Read the scripture and commit them to memory.  When you pray, remind God of His Word and what it says, not because God needs to be reminded, but because you need to be reminded that He is true to His Word.  God is at work, and He is still performing miracles…

 

 

Leave a Reply

