Is It 2016 Already?

2 Peter 3:8

But, beloved, be not ignorant of this one thing, that one day is with the LORD as a thousand years, and a thousand years as one day.

My, how times flies!  I remember like it was just a few weeks ago, how we were hearing all the buzz about Y2K, and how the computer systems that we used at that time might not convert to the “00” date, thus crashing all the systems that we use daily.  I remember that, during that time, I worked for a national telecommunications company, and on the evening of December 31, 1999, everyone was offered triple pay if they allowed themselves to be “on call” for the night, even if nothing happened that would cause them to be called in.  As I look back on that night, I kind of wish I had allowed myself to be put on that list so that I could have earned that triple pay!

My point, however is this:  time for us is flying by.  In 2000, my only child was 10 years old.  Now, she is an adult living in another state, and she has three younger siblings.  In 2000, my faith in the LORD was in the infant stage.  Now I feel that the LORD has matured me and helped me to grow closer to Him, to the point where I can trust Him with the most difficult situations in my life.  Sometimes it seems like He takes His sweet time in fixing things, but as the Word says, “…one day is with the LORD as a thousand years, and a thousand years as one day…”  It seems like a long time to me, but it is not a long time to Him.

Thank you LORD. for your timing.  I would love for You to do things my way in my timing, but because I do not know all that is good for me the way You do, I know that You will work all things for my good.   Thank you LORD for loving me enough to do what You do at the right time.

Leave a Reply

