In the beginning, God…

Genesis 1:1

In the beginning, GOD created the heavens and the earth.


A couple of months ago, I completed a nine-month study of the book of Genesis.  As I meditated on the majesty and the power of Almighty God, I began to think how wonderful it is that I, worm that I am, have the privilege of being loved and blessed by the God of the universe.  He is the One Who spoke the heavens and the earth into existence, and at the same time, He pays close attention to me.  He is ruler over everything that is and was and will be, and He is keenly aware of all the nuances that are my life.  He knows my thoughts before I think them, He knows my feelings before I feel them.  He knows when a tragedy will strike, or when I will be blessed.  The thought is greater than my mind’s eye has room to comprehend…


In the beginning, God had a plan.  His plan was to create a world and a people who could enjoy the perfection that He had in mind.  He had planned for man to have dominion over every living thing.  He had planned for man to enjoy all the plants that He created.  He gave the world beautiful sunlight to rule over the day and beautiful stars to light up the night sky.  He had a plan in mind.


Unfortunately, man ruined it.  He fell prey to the plan that the enemy had in mind, and he lost his fellowship with the Holy God.  He sinned.  He brought shame upon himself and death into the world.  From that time until this, man has had to deal with the effects of sin and death and the fallen nature that comes in every person born into this world.


In the beginning, God knew that man would sin.  He knew that man would need a Savior to come into the world and reconcile him back to God.  God knew that man would go after his own way, and that he would not have the means to restore himself back to God.  God knew, even back in the beginning.


Thank God for Jesus.  Thank God that He sent His Only begotten Son to the world to reconcile sinful man back to the Holy God.  Thank God that He did not leave us in our sinful state.  Thank God that we can be free from the burden and the penalty of sin.  Thank God that Jesus bore our weight of sin on His body, that we might once again have the right to the tree of life.


He did all of this for you and for me, in the beginning…

Leave a Reply

