Great is Thy Faithfulness

 

Lamentations 3:22-26

It is of the LORD’s mercies that we are not consumed, because His compassions fail not.
They are new every morning: great is Thy faithfulness.
The LORD is my portion, saith my soul; therefore will I hope in Him.
The LORD is good unto them that wait for Him, to the soul that seeketh Him.
It is good that a man should both hope and quietly wait for the salvation of the LORD.

 

This week, an acquaintance of mine had to bury one of their children. My heart has been so very heavy for this family all week. I cannot imagine what they must be going through. The loss of a child, my grandmother used to say, is one of the things that one never gets over. It is a wound that is never healed.

 

As I thought of this bereaved family, and talked to the Lord about their plight, I wondered how on earth this could have happened. I know I, as well as others, had prayed diligently this situation to turn out differently. I wondered what was God doing while this child lay dying.

 

One evening, in my quiet time with the Lord, God reminded me, as He does ever so faithfully, that even when we think that He is not there, He is right there, ever so lovingly being in control of the situation. As bad as the situation may be, He reminded me that things could always be worse, and the only reason that they are not is because of the restraining power of the Holy Spirit.

 

The Father also reminded me that Matthew 19:14 says “But Jesus said, Suffer little children, and forbid them not, to come unto Me: for of such is the kingdom of heaven.” This child, who will be so desperately missed by family and friends, is at this millisecond seated at the feet of Jesus, enjoying all the splendor of heaven, witnessing the ultimate choir made up of angels, and suffering no more.

 

God is faithful. He is faithful when I understand Him and when I don’t. He is faithful when I like what He does and when I don’t. He is good and righteous and just and holy and pure and sovereign and powerful and merciful and beyond description. His compassion never fails. He is merciful beyond measure. As painful as it is to be physically separated from one’s child, even in that, God is faithful.

Leave a Reply

