And The Waiting Continues…

How long will Thou forget me O Lord? Forever? How long wilt Thou hide Thy face from me?

How long shall I take counsel in my soul, having sorrow in my heart daily? How long shall my enemy be exalted over me? Consider and hear me, O Lord my God: lighten my eyes, lest I sleep the sleep of death; lest mine enemy say, I have prevailed against him: and those that trouble me rejoice when I am moved. But I have trusted in Thy mercy; my heart shall rejoice in Thy salvation. I will sing unto the Lord, because He hath dealt bountifully with me.

Psalm 13

When I pray a sincere, heartfelt prayer that reflects a desperate need in my life, I guess I feel like the psalmist did when he wrote the 13th Psalm. Sometimes it feels like the Lord has forgotten me. Sometimes I wonder if He hears my prayer at all. I know, however, that when I feel that way, I have surrendered to my flesh, and I have to come to myself, as the prodigal son did when he realized that his father’s servants were eating better than he (Luke 15). I have to remember that God’s time is not my time, and the way He thinks is not the way I think (Isaiah 55:8-9). I know He hears my prayers (Matthew 21:22). So I have to keep trusting Him, because I know that He knows what He is doing.

I encourage myself in this way because my heart is so heavy. I “…take counsel in my soul, having sorrow in my heart daily…” It is interesting how sometimes things just are the way they are and there is nothing that a human can do to change them. But I know that God can. I know He is able to change the hearts and minds of men in a way that we will never understand. So we have to turn these necessary changes over to Him and let Him do the thing that He does best: be the sovereign God!

I trust in His mercy. I depend on His grace. I long for His salvation. God is faithful to do all that He has promised. Never do we have to concern ourselves with His recollection of all that He has said. He will never be less than trustworthy. He has earned more than our respect and admiration. He has earned our worship and our faith. He sent His darling Son to die for our sins. He did not leave us to our own devices even after we sinned against Him. He loved us so much that He came to earth as a helpless baby. Our God is beyond description.

I sing His praises because He has dealt bountifully with me. He has been good to me throughout my life. I think of my track record with Him, and it stinks. I have been unfaithful to Him, I have not kept His statutes, I have dishonored His Name. But then, I think of His track record with me. He has been so faithful to me until I cannot describe it. His statutes are in place for my well-being. He thinks of me when I am not thinking of Him. He is loving and kind, even to a sinner like me. And if you do not have a relationship with Him as you are reading these words, please do not let this moment pass without confessing your sins to Him and asking Him to become Lord of your life. You do not have to get “ready” for Him; He is ready and waiting for you. There is nothing that you can do to prepare yourself for Him. He has prepared a place for you already (John 14:3). You cannot clean yourself up enough for Him. Your sins are as scarlet, but He can make them as white as snow (Isaiah 1:18). Do not let this moment pass you by. Tomorrow is not promised…

That if thou shalt confess with thy mouth the Lord Jesus, and believe in thine heart that God hath raised Him from the dead, thou shalt be saved…

Romans 10:9

Leave a Reply

