Jesus Loves Me

Matthew 28:1-2, 5-6

In the end of the sabbath, as it began to dawn toward the first day of the week, came Mary Magdalene and the other Mary to see the sepulchre. 
And, behold, there was a great earthquake: for the angel of the Lord descended from heaven, and came and rolled back the stone from the door, and sat upon it. 
And the angel answered and said unto the women, “Fear not ye: for I know that ye seek Jesus, Which was crucified. 
He is not here: for He is risen, as He said. Come, see the place where the Lord lay.”

 

It was early in the morning. Jesus’ followers had been through so much over the past few days. Not only did they watch their Leader being tried for crimes He did not commit, but they also watched His accusers crucify Him on a cross between two thieves. Their emotions must have run the gamut. They were probably exhausted from fear and anxiety. Their leader was gone. What would they do?

 

The women made their way to the tomb where His body had been buried. As they approached it, a sound, like an earthquake, roared in their ears. The angel of the Lord had come down to roll away the stone. He sat there, looking at their bewildered expressions.

 

“Do not fear,” he said. “I know you are seeking Jesus, Whom they crucified.”

 

The women probably nodded their heads in disbelief.

 

“He is not here,” the angel continued, “for He is risen, as He said.” Then he invited them into the tomb to see for themselves.

 

As the celebration of the Lord’s resurrection approaches each year, this story begins to consume my thoughts. I often wonder how I would have felt had I been looking for my Lord early that morning. I wonder how I would have slept had I witnessed his death two nights before. I wonder what I would have talked about with Mary, His mother, and John, His dear friend, and the rest of the disciples who walked with Him over the past three years. I wonder…

 

The greatest part of the story is that we no longer have to wonder at all. He rose from the grave early on that morning, and He later ascended into the heavens to be seated next to the Father. He is now interceding on the behalf of all the saints of God who still live here on the earth. But even better still is the fact that He loved the world so much that He died to pay our debt of sin. On that rugged old cross where the body of Jesus hanged in shame and humiliation for all the world to see, my sin hanged on that cross with Him…all because He loves me.

 

So, when all is wrong in the world, and it seems that there is no one that I can turn to for encouragement, I sing a simple little song at the top of my lungs, to remind myself that…

 

Yes! Jesus loves me! Yes! Jesus loves me!
Yes! Jesus loves me! The Bible tells me so…

John 3:16

Leave a Reply

