And We’re Still Here…

I posted this entry the day after the body of believers was supposed to be raptured up, based on some foolish prediction by some radical group. I had the opportunity to talk to one of the people who belonged to this group, and he tried his best to convince me that we were out of here on May 21, 2011. I tried to get him to agree to meet me on May 22, but of course, since then, none of his kind are anywhere to be found. Nevertheless, these were my feelings then and now about such nonsense. I hope you hear my heart on this ….

Matthew 24:36
But of that day and hour knoweth no man, no, not the angels of heaven, but My Father only.

Matthew 24:42
Watch therefore: for ye know not what hour your Lord doth come.

Matthew 24:44
Therefore be ye also ready: for in such an hour as ye think not the Son of Man cometh.

Matthew 24:13
Watch therefore, for ye know neither the day nor the hour wherein the Son of Man cometh.

Mark 13:32
But of that day and that hour knoweth no man, no, not the angels which are in heaven, neither the Son, but the Father.

Luke 12:40
Be ye therefore ready also: for the Son of man cometh at an hour when ye think not.

Revelation 3:3
Remember therefore how thou hast received and heard, and hold fast, and repent. If therefore thou shalt not watch, I will come on thee as a thief, and thou shalt not know what hour I will come upon thee.

If you have travelled up and down nearly any major highway in this country or others lately, you have seen billboards that say something to the effect that judgment day would be May 21, 2011. It has been all over the news, and I even read that people are throwing parties to celebrate afterwards.

But here I sit, at my computer, on May 22, 2011. I was up late last night and woke up early this morning, and heard no trumpet or voice of any archangel. I did not go to church (because I had a really bad allergy attack), but I know that church services happened at my church today, and I also know that there are some true believers in my church (because I am one of them) and if Jesus had come for anyone yesterday, He would have come for me.

My point is this: God’s Word is simple and clear when it says that no one, not even a retired civil engineer, knows when Jesus will return. If you think that you do know, you are either self-deceived, a heretic, or crazy.

It is with great pleasure that I remain here on earth today. I look forward to the day when Jesus comes back to get us, and I hope He raptures the church during my lifetime, but I hope he NEVER comes back on a day that some human being has predicted.

Leave a Reply

