Calling the Lord

1 Thessalonians 5:17
“Pray without ceasing.”

As I sat in Bible study on Tuesday morning listening to our teaching leader proclaiming the goodness of the Lord to a group of about 200 women, my mind began to wander through the pages of my life over recent years. I know personally that God is good; I did not need someone else to tell me so. God healed me from a sickness that I thought was going to take me home to heaven. God spared me from destruction due to some of my own foolish choices. God had mercy on me when everyone else was struggling in the fallen economy. God protected my children from the dangers of the world in which they are forced to live. God provided a job for my husband after he was laid off of the job from which we thought he would retire. God saved my home when we thought we were headed for foreclosure. He did all those wonderful things for me, and on top of that, He died for me. Over 2000 years ago, God Himself came to the earth in the form of a baby, lived a sinless life, and died a criminal’s death to pay a debt of sin that He did not owe, and one that I could never repay. He took every nasty thought, every evil deed, every bad attitude, all my bad behavior, every lie that I have ever told, every sin that I have ever committed, and He bore them on His body so that I could be reconciled back to Him after my sin entered the world. God has been so good to me.

So, I sat there. I tried to keep the tears that were falling down my face from showing to the others around me. The words that fell on my ears touched a deep place in my heart and I could hardly contain myself. I remember the pain of my situation, and how I had to call on the Lord to save me from myself. I thought I could not bear any more trials. I thought that my heartbreak was too severe to ever heal. I thought I was all alone in the world. Thank God that He spoke to me in that still, small voice, and said “Call unto Me…”

Lord, I have been calling on you every day since I was two, I thought to myself. But this was different. It seemed that the Lord was tugging on the strings of my heart to pull me into a more intimate relationship with Him. It seems to me that He wanted more out of me. He did not want more works, I had done it all…I sang in the choir, I taught Sunday School, I volunteered any time the prayer team needed a body, I led worship, I had done it all. What He did want from me was for me to call on Him. I believe that the Lord wanted me to pour out my heart to Him. It was not that He did not know the content and the cares of my heart. Of course He did. But the Bible says that we are to pray without ceasing. Well, I had gotten to the level of despondency that gave way for my flesh to control my being. I was too hurt, tired and depressed to pray. But the Lord kept pulling on the strings of my heart. I could not rest until I cried out to the Lord.

Praise the Lord, He brought me through it all. His Word is true. He showed me “..great and mighty things…” which I certainly did not know. I would not have known that He was such a Deliverer had I never been in bondage. I would not have known that He was as great a Healer had I never been sick. I would not have known His power as a Provider had I never been in need. God has been good to me. That I do know…

Leave a Reply

